Business books and a true heart

http://www.lindawildideas.co.uk

Ok so this week I finally finished reading, the sunday times Best seller Botty’s Rules.

I kind of feel like I am going on about the Entrepreneur circle a lot, but it has had such
an impact on me and really got me motivated. Just about everything I have read and
learned from them makes so much business sense.

I feel really inspired by Botty’s Rules and have a rather long “to do” list that I am working through.

My 7 year old son, has been really interested in the things I have been doing for my business.
( you may remember the flashy and fishart blog, where he wanted to have his own flash drives with a logo on).
He is really keen to read Botty’s Rules for himself, and in a bid to encourage him into a much better entrepreneur than I will ever be, and make sure that I do not stamp all over his ideas, then that is his next bedtime reading book.

Currently we are part way through “The secret history of Tom Truehart boy adventurer”
by Ian Beck – which incidentally is a great read too!

The Secret History of Tom Trueheart (Oxford, £6.99) is the famed illustrator Ian Beck’s first novel for children. It tells the story of how 12-year-old Tom, seventh son of the Trueheart clan of fairy-tale heroes, has to set out on a quest when all six of his beefy brothers fail to do their usual duty by the Story Bureau, and vanish to boot. Beck creates a world that is a shrewd mix of the mundane and the fanciful, and embellishes his narrative with jaunty silhouettes and graceful flourishes.

Find out more in the land of stories here……..  http://www.tomtrueheart.com/

I am going to attempt to inspire you all with a poem quoted in Botty’s Rules, that fits perfectly with the wonderful positive and hopeful imagination and belief of all children.

Maybe if we can all be true to our hearts then we might get to achieve our dreams and aspirations.
The poem is by Edgar Albert Guest (1881 – 1959) and goes like this………..

It couldn’t be done

Somebody said that it couldn’t be done
But he with a chuckle replied
That “maybe it couldn’t,” but he would be one
Who wouldn’t say so till he’d tried.
So he buckled right in with the trace of a grin
On his face. If he worried he hid it.
He started to sing as he tackled the thing
That couldn’t be done, and he did it!

Somebody scoffed: “Oh, you’ll never do that;
At least no one ever has done it;”
But he took off his coat and he took off his hat
And the first thing we knew he’d begun it.
With a lift of his chin and a bit of a grin,
Without any doubting or quiddit,
He started to sing as he tackled the thing
That couldn’t be done, and he did it.

There are thousands to tell you it cannot be done,
There are thousands to prophesy failure,
There are thousands to point out to you one by one,
The dangers that wait to assail you.
But just buckle in with a bit of a grin,
Just take off your coat and go to it;
Just start in to sing as you tackle the thing
That “cannot be done,” and you’ll do it.

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/173579

We should free our minds from negativity and get believing in ourselves.
So to finish on a positive note, can I presume you have all seen my own business poem,
(its the sign-off image on my emails)

It incorporates my business strapline, and is hopefully
encouraging clients to be positive about
what a nice person I am to work with, and what outstanding service I provide………

TRUST that I can create what you need
An innovative workable solution indeed
with reliable personal service to exceed
KNOW that I will
be inspired and BELIEVE

http://www.lindawildideas.co.uk

Leave a Reply

