Wild value and worth

http://www.lindawildideas.co.uk

As long as I can remember (except when I was a know-it all  teenager who listened to no-body) I have been happy to learn as much as I can from others.

Many instances in my life prompted the saying “every day’s a school day” and I remember recently hearing a comedian on the TV using the same phrase, although I can’t remember who.

I also think Nigel (Botterill) mentioned something along the lines of learning as much as you can from others.

Anyway, so after downloading “Breaking-the-Time-Barrier.pdf” ages ago I finally found an hour late one evening to read it.

Very inspiring, and strangely it once again conjured up the “value” subject, that I have blogged about before.

If you get time you should read it yourself http://breakingthetimebarrier.freshbooks.com/

but in a nutshell it is about changing the way you look at yourself. Appreciating your own value and exploring what that is worth to your clients.

Getting those who buy your services to realise that you are “not a collection of hours,” but. “the accumulation of all your skills and talents. you are wisdom and creativity”

So when they pay you to design their website, and it improves their business revenue by £100,000. then that means your value should be a percentage of that improvement figure (£20,000) regardless of how quick you can complete their project.

Therefore those of us in service based industries should be charging per project not by the hour.

I already posted this quote to Facebook as I was reading:
“Our clients don’t care about our costs. They care about the value we create for them, so that’s what we should be asking them to pay for.”

and one of my friends commented
“Nice idea if they believe the value created is the same as the seller believe they created…. They need convincing of that first perhaps?”

Good point, and the book addresses this, (read on to see how).

The really surprising thing is that, I DO MOST OF THE THINGS IT SAYS ALREADY!
I CANNOT IMAGINE HOW ANYONE WOULD BE ABLE TO CREATE A SUCCESSFUL SERVICE INDUSTRY WITHOUT DOING THEM!

Does that make me above average, a better choice, is that my USP? (unique selling point)
Not wanting to blow my own trumpet, but, if the book is to be believed, it would appear so.

Read these quotes from the book and you decide:
( remember I already do all of these things)

1. “don’t talk about price before exploring what your client is trying to achieve, you risk delivering a solution that isn’t right for them.”

2. “if your client wants to talk about price right away I tell them I need to understand what they want first before I can set a price. Most people are fine with that. If they’re desperate to know a ballpark, I might give them a range, but I really resist that. I find that prospects who focus on price right away often turn out to be the kind of client you don’t want anyway.”

3. “When I start off by asking my clients probing questions, they see that I’m interested in understanding their unique problems and crafting solutions based on what I learn. That inspires trust because they know I’m not trying to push cookiecutter stuff that I force on everyone. I also ask a lot of insightful questions that demonstrate my expertise, which reassures the client that they’ve got someone in the room who can help them. That relieves a lot of anxiety for them.”

So, a reassuring read that I am halfway there, already. It’s a nice feeling to know that I am doing things better than most.
and if you’re still not convinced, then this quote from from one of my early clients rubber stamps it….

“I was given plenty of opportunity to discuss and redefine my design requirements. The support and advice I was given was sound, helpful and obviously based on considerable professional expertise.”
Cath Measures, Belper 2008

http://www.lindawildideas.co.uk

Leave a Reply

